UK News

Northern Ireland Assembly election results put Sinn Fein first with most first-preference votes

Sinn Fein is heading in the right direction for its greatest ever end in a Northern Ireland Assembly election after receiving the most first-preference votes, as counting resumed on Saturday morning.

Sinn Fein presently has 18 seats, whereas the DUP have 12, the Alliance Party eight, the Ulster Unionists (UUP) 4 and the SDLP on three, with one seat going to TUV chief Jim Allister and one to impartial unionist Alex Easton.

Sinn Fein obtained 250,388 first preferences, in contrast with the 184,002 returned for the DUP and 116,681 for the Alliance Party.

This signifies that it obtained 29 per cent of first desire votes, in contrast with 21.3 per cent for the DUP, 13.5 per cent for Alliance, 11.2 per cent for the UUP and 9.1 per cent for the SDLP.

Sinn Fein’s vp Michelle O’Neill, heading in the right direction to be the first nationalist first minister, was elected on the first rely in Mid Ulster, with Alliance chief Naomi Long topping the ballot in East Belfast.

Ms O’Neill, surrounded by get together colleagues and supporters because the consequence was introduced within the Magherafelt rely centre, stated Sinn Fein needed to “together work in partnership with others”.

O’Neill on the election rely centre in Magherafelt


DUP chief Sir Jeffrey Donaldson, elected on the first rely in Lagan Valley, remained defiant. “I think it is going to be very tight at the end as to who will emerge as the largest party,” he stated.

He added: “One of the key messages for me is that unionism simply can’t afford the divisions that exist.”

DUP MP Sammy Wilson warned earlier that his get together wouldn’t re-enter the Stormont govt with out motion by Boris Johnson’s authorities to ditch Northern Ireland Protocol checks.

“If there’s no legislation in the Queen’s Speech and no plans to deal with the protocol then we’ve made it very clear the assembly can’t function if the poison of the protocol is still there,” he stated.

But Sinn Fein MP John Finucane stated individuals have been extra involved about bread-and-butter points. He stated: “I believe the DUP during the campaign outlined a five-point plan as to how they were going to grow our economy, fix our health service and help working families. I don’t see how that is possible without an executive.”

Cabinet minister Nadhim Zahawi restated the federal government’s position that each one choices for dealing with the protocol stay on the desk.

The authorities is hoping the result of the election – which noticed Irish nationalists’ Sinn Fein emerge as the biggest get together – will persuade Brussels the checks have to be dropped to revive power-sharing preparations.

The training secretary advised Sky News: “The important thing is to try and make sure we work with the parties in Northern Ireland, but also with the European Commission to make sure that we leave no stone unturned to try and make it work.”

The first MLA elected to the Stormont Assembly pointed to a serious surge for the Alliance Party, the one non-unionist, non-nationalist get together within the contest.

Sir Jeffrey Donaldson’s DUP will retain its position as the biggest unionist get together (Brian Lawless/PA)

(PA Wire)

Kellie Armstrong was elected for the Strangford constituency on the first stage of the rely with 7,015 votes. Congratulated by Alliance chief Naomi Long, Ms Armstrong stated it was the beginning of a breakthrough for the get together.

“I’m absolutely delighted,” Ms Armstrong stated. “I’ve held back using the word surge until now but I think I’m feeling it now. I’m absolutely delighted to top the poll.”

SDLP chief Colum Eastwood play downed expectations for his nationalist get together, saying voters might have “lent” their vote to Sinn Fein.

“It’s going to be a long day and maybe a long night as well,” he stated on Friday. “I think there has been a big vote for Sinn Fein on the nationalist side. People decided to send a very clear message that nationalists should not be locked out of the first minister position.”

Back to top button